Strathglass Shinty Club – A History of Success

The first success of Strathglass in Camanachd Association competition appears to be in the season 1928-29 when Strathglass won the Strathdearn Cup beating Strathdearn 7-5 in the final at the Bught Park having been beaten in the final the previous season by Caberfeidh. In 1929 they were narrowly beaten in the final of the Sir William Sutherland Cup by Lochside Rovers 4-3 at Spean Bridge. They lost again in the final of the Strathdearn Cup in 1930 to Strathdearn 3-2 at Beauly. On resumption of competitive shinty after the war Strathglass entered Camanachd competitions from 1946. Strathglass won the inaugural MacDonald Cup in 1948, playing at Drumnadrochit winning 5-2. To date they have won the MacDonald Cup on 15 occasions. They also won the Lochcarron Cup in 1950.

The Club did not compete in the early 6Os, only from 1964-65 season did they take part in competitions. The team colours were changed at this time from red shirts and blue shorts to present strip of maroon tops and light blue shorts. Strathglass had a very successful year in season 1966-67 winning the Strathdearn, Glenmhor, and MacDonald Cups. The Glenmhor Cup was won again in 1968. Strathglass entered their first juvenile competition in 1967 when a team played in the Strathdearn sixes at the Bught Park . In the mid 1970s Strathglass entered teams for juvenile competitions and won their first major trophy in 1979 winning the MacTavish Juvenile Cup. The primary school team have won the Aviemore sixes. Today we are one of only a handful of teams who compete at all levels primary, U14, U16, U21, second and first teams entering all competitions with the exception of schools Camanachd Competitions. Strathglass won the Strathdearn Cup again in 1982 beating Kingussie 3-2 in the final.

The 26th of April 1986 was a day to remember for Strathglass players and supporters. Playing in only their second national final (their first some 57 years previous) they defeated Colglen 4-2 after extra time at Inveraray to win their first national title – the Balliemore Cup. The season 1989-90 saw Strathglass win the North Division 2 league for the first time in their history and with it lifting the MacGillivary Junior Cup and promotion to Division 1. This cup was presented to Strathglass after the MacTavish Cup final at the Bught Park. Strathglass were to lift the North Division 2 title in 1991-92 but only after a play off between themselves and Kinlochsheil at Drumnadrochit. The Strath winning 3-1. The same season Strathglass lost the final of the Qualifying Cup 6-1 to Glenurquhart at the Bught Park.

In 1995 Strathglass again won the North Division 2 title. Although Strathglass had finished their fixtures on the 12th of May they were not presented with the MacGillivary Cup until the 10th of June when they played Lochcarron at Beauly in the final of the Valerle Fraser Cup losing 0-2 after extra time. They also won the MacDonald Cup for the first time in 13 years. Strathglass were also beaten finalists in the Valerie Fraser Cup in 1989 & 1994. Strathglass won the Mod Cup in 1997. The season 1999-2000 saw Strathglass win the North Division 1 title for the first time. Needing two points to clinch the title in their last game they beat Lovat at Balgate. They were presented with the MacGillivary Senior Cup after the match becoming the first club to win a major trophy in the New Millennium. Strathglass then played Oban Celtic (South Div 1 champs) at Fortwilliam for promotion to National League Division 1 unfortunately they lost.

On 31st May 2003 Strathglass won the Ballimore Cup for the second time going into the final as underdogs they defeated Skye 3-2 on penalties after the teams had finished level at 2-2 after extra time. In 2004 Strathglass celebrated their 125th anniversary and what a historic year it was to become. Strathglass made their first ever appearance in the semi-finals of the Camanachd Cup. Going down 5-1 to Fort William at Newtonmore. However, on September 18th a 4-0 victory against Inverness saw them crowned Division One Champions at Cannich. On October 2nd the club won the playoff against South Division One Champions Kilmory with a convincing 7-2 victory at Speanbridge clinching promotion to National Division One. Strathglass Second Team reached the final of the Strathdearn Cup only to lose to Kilmallie 4-3.

History was made in 2005 as Strathglass became the first team to win consecutive promotions, clinching the title and promotion to the Premier League with a 0-0 draw against GlenUrquhart at Drumnadrochit having gone through the entire league campaign undefeated. In some ways it was fitting that Strathglass should clinch this historic promotion playing against our oldest rivals. Strathglass have won many other cups and shields at all levels which although important to the club and players have not been recorded here.